About The Council

Blyth Town Council Chambers

Mayor of Blyth


At the Annual General Meeting, Councillor Aileen Barrass was elected the new Mayor of Blyth Town Council. Read more here 


2023 - 2024

Councillor Warren Taylor became Mayor at the AGM on 11 May 2023.


2022 - 23

Councillor Warren Taylor became Mayor at the AGM on 12 May 2022.

2021 - 22

​​​​​​​Councillor Margaret Richardson became Mayor at the AGM on 17 May 2021.


Margaret Richardson became a Blyth Town Councillor over 4 years ago and has been committed to her community during her time in office.

In May 2021 she was elected both as Mayor of Blyth Town Council and as a County Councillor for Northumberland County Council.Margaret has lived in Blyth for the duration of her life and has worked in the community during this time. Prior to COVID, she cooked for a lunch club weekly for elderly people. In addition to this, she helps run a Friday Club for elderly people which also involves taking them on 2 trips per year – one being an annual trip to Blackpool, great fun!

Margaret is committed to making things better for the residents of Blyth.

2020 - 21

Councillor Warren Taylor remained Mayor due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2019 - 2020

Councillor Warren Taylor became Mayor at the AGM on 9 May 2019.

2018 - 2019

Councillor Adrian Cartie was Mayor 2018-2019

Mayors Update - December

Mayors Update - November

Mayors Update - October

2017 - 2018

Councillor John Potts was Mayor 2017-2018

If you would like to read the updates from Councillor John Potts’ time as mayor, please click here.